Rating Levels

Commission/Certification Ratings

All personnel who are official members hold either a Commission or Certification and are sworn into the Central Aid Agency.  Collectively these are known as Ratings.  Ratings come in three forms which are associated with specific rank grades.

Contract Personnel (CONP) Contract Personnel are recognized by the C.A.A. but are not actually Rated personnel and do not hold a Certification or Commission.  Contract Personnel are issued operating numbers, but are not assigned standard ranks.

Certified Troopers (CT) cover Cadets and Trooper rank grades H1-G7.  Certified Troopers are sworn in and exercise full membership powers and abilities, and are the lowest Rating grade.

Non-Commissioned Officers (NCO) are junior members of command staff and hold low level leadership positions.  NCO Ratings cover rank grades F1-E7.

Commissioned Officers (CO) is the largest Rating block and covers senior leadership positions and members of command staff.  These include all rank grades D1-A7.

Payroll Ratings are modifiers to the three above Rating types to designate paid personnel, and are designated by gold colored chest ID tapes, while volunteer personnel are designated by silver colored chest ID tapes.


All Rated Central Aid Agency personnel are assigned a rank when they are sworn in.  Ranks define chain of command and leadership.  Ranks are earned through merit or by accruing enough points, and can only be lowered as a result of discipline or reassignment.

Our Organization

The Board

The Central Aid Agency is led by a Board of Directors consisting of 7 Directors, each from one of the 7 Commands; and up to 7 elected voting seats that can be held by any Commissioned Officer who is elected from one of each of the Commands or Branches.  The Board is in charge of defining policy, developing the organization, and moving us forward.  The Board meets regularly to discuss and vote on issues.


The C.A.A. is divided into seven primary groups called Commands.  Each Command focuses on a specific area of interest or job within our overall mission.  In addition, the Commands are further subdivided into Branches that are tasked with very specific or specialized roles.  Commands, Branches, and their assigned units are activated or deactivated depending on organization resources and overall need.


Commands are made up of units, which are where personnel are assigned and organized.  Units are numbered within their parent command and come in three different structures known as Tiers.  Each tier determines how units are structured, what kind of deployments they are meant for, and how intensive the requirements are for member personnel.  Units have the ability to adopt specific mascots or nicknames.

Tier 1 is the most intensive with the most stringent requirements and is geared toward global deployment.

Tier 2 is the middle ground, semi-stringent requirements typically geared toward structured operations within a Sector.

Tier 3 is the low end and least intensive, it is geared primarily for community service and outreach.

Ad-Hoc units are units of any Tier that exist on a part time basis, personnel voluntarily take on the duties and responsibilities of the ad-hoc unit in addition to their regular duties and responsibilities.  They are deployed whenever the unit is needed.


The C.A.A. consists of Sectors, which are geographical areas where personnel and units are based when not deployed.  Sectors are managed by Sector Command and are made up of Elements from multiple Commands, Branches, and Programs.  Sectors are led by a Board appointed Sector Commander.

Affiliates are companies that are connected to the C.A.A. but legally separate from it.  They are used to diversify our mission and as a source of revenue.

"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world.  Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has"

-Margaret Mead, American anthropologist